Novel Suggestions Rotating Header Image

National Book Awards 2009 Finalists

Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann“On March 16, 1950, publishers, editors, writers, and critics gathered at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City to celebrate the first annual National Book Awards, an award given to writers by writers. The American Book Publisher’s Council, The Book Manufacturers’ Institute, and The American Booksellers’ Association jointly sponsored the Awards, bringing together the American literary community for the first time to honor the year’s best work in fiction, nonfiction, and poetry”. – Source the National Book Foundation

Novel Suggestions has listed below the 2009 winner and finalists in the fiction category which you are sure to want on your reading list.

Colum McCann, Let the Great World Spin

Bonnie Jo Campbell, American Salvage

Daniyal Mueenuddin, In Other Rooms, Other Wonders

Jayne Anne Phillips, Lark and Termite

Marcel Theroux, Far North

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *